YOP Wk of 10/10-16: WIP Updates and Mail

Sailormoon Update

I did indeed finish the body striping and I’ve also completed 2 sets of the bottom lace. The pattern only calls for 2 sets but I did 3 on my Sailormoon and I prefer the 3 sets. This week will be sleeve island. End of October finish looking good!!

Sailormoon

Advent 2019 Sock Update

Uhh, turns out that my ivy stripe from last week was still wrong as the berry row was incorrect. So tinked back a 3rd time and reknit it. I think I’m finally done with it. This week I got the purple stripe completed and will be starting the heels. I’m using leftover self striping sock for the heel and foot as I plan to wear the socks so a) I don’t need the bulk of colorwork stripes in my shoes and b) who is going to see colorwork on the foot since I’ll be wearing shoes. I’ve dropped down from US 4 needles for the colorwork to US 2 for a better fitting foot.

You Got Mail

This week’s mail brought me the Christmas sock yarn and a bamboo based sock yarn I ordered. Mary Maxim offered me free shipping and at $7 a skein, how could I resist?! Turns out I’m doing better than I thought on my Yarn In/Yarn Out. Even with this purchase I still have more yarn going out of my stash. And I haven’t added the Sailormoon or Advent 2019 socks I’m currently about to finish to my “yarn out” tally. So I’m looking good for meeting my goal of more yarn out than in. I’m optimistic that I’ll meet it in 2022 as well.

Autumn Is Here

Well, a cold front finally came through Friday night and lowered the temperature to more normal fall weather. It is so nice to be able to wear my sweaters before we head to the summer temperatures in SW Florida. I had to bundle up to watch FCC lose their home match. Ironically the trees still haven’t really taken on their fall colors by now. Guess the unusually warm weather kept the leaves green. Although sometimes the fall isn’t very pretty here with the leaves going from green to brown. I’m hoping we get some reds, oranges, and yellows in the coming week. We always joke that Cincinnati actually only has two seasons, winter and summer. It seems like we frequently stay cold in the spring and then shot up to summer temperatures and likewise stay warm in the fall before dropping down to winter temperatures. Wishing everyone a great week.

This is a year of projects (YOP) update. YOP is a Ravelry Group – make a plan for the year ahead for all your fiber activities, then update your blog each week. Plans can be calendar year (like mine) or mid-year start (like many). Following the plan is optional and creates some of the fun of posts. YOP is in it’s 11th year. It’s my second in the group.

16 thoughts on “YOP Wk of 10/10-16: WIP Updates and Mail

  1. You certainly did good on your new treasures. Seven dollars a skein is unheard of. Your Sailor moon is going so well. Too bad you had to rip back on the socks again. They are so pretty. I think it is a smart idea to knit the foot without the colorwork.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m enjoying seeing the progression on the socks! And nice to hear a weather update… I saw it was 42 there this morning. It was a cool 67 here – coldest morning we’ve had! But it will be high 80s by this afternoon. No sweaters here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never tracked my yarn in/yarn out (I’m not sure if I want to know how quickly it’s accumulating) but that’s definitely a bargain not to be missed. Beautiful knitting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I decided to added as a goal this year as my stash kept expanding. I don’t want to stop buying but I do want to stop accumulating. It’s starting to stress me how much yarn I have waiting to be knit.

      Like

  4. Your advent socks are looking good. I am amazed at your perseverance on those holly berries, but you will be happier knowing they are correctly placed. Your sailor moon is really coming along quickly. Will your daughter model it for us when it is done?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will hopefully get a picture of her in the finished sweater. I know about the berries. Almost left them but since it wasn’t that hard to tink back a sock I went ahead and fixed them. Frustrating how I can’t see the mistake until I’ve knit more of the pattern.

      Like

  5. Love the Advent socks! They’ve been on my list for a while. After seeing yours, I’m going to start saving scraps for a pair.

    I love your organization of yarn in/ yarn out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment