2022: Wk of 12/11-17; Hubby Sweater Save!! and Cropped Ranunculus FO

HUBBY SWEATER SAVE!!!

Well, I intended to put my hubby’s sweater in time-out but I couldn’t resist trying a few things. So I went ahead and knit the collar. It really helped make the sweater look better!! Then I decided to lengthen the sleeve. I had hubby try it on again with the changes. Good enough. Sleeve could be longer and is definitely tighter than I like. I will try to stretch it more during blocking. “Dry” blocking helped stretch the body so it doesn’t look too tight. He likes it long although I think it’d like it better about 2 stripes shorter. Neither of us are a fan of the excess material at the underarm but it’s livable. (NEVER again bottom-up/cuff-up). This way he has a sweater to wear on the flight home where we are having an artic freeze. The temperature will be well below freezing when we land and again when we leave. I will give him the black undershirt I got him to wear under it before we fly out on Wednesday. He is hiding the second arm because I still need to lengthen that one. Not a great sweater but fine for around the house wear.

MOHAIR RANUNCULUS

This was a quick knit, especially since I didn’t have that much yarn. I think it makes a cute outfit when I combine it with a tank top and leggings. It’s funny how different this one is from my first one. I never would have guessed that going from a US 10 to a US 11 and adding lace weight mohair would increase the gauge so much. But it’s loose and fluffy just like I had imaged. Since I cropped it, I made a garter hem rather than a ribbed hem. I wanted the hem to hang straight vs a ribbed hem that tucks in. Fingers crossed I like the feel of mohair.

ADVENT CALENDAR MINIS

I am enjoying my advent calendars and looking forward to starting a Sea Glass tee come January with the mini set on the left. It has a lot of darker colors which will be perfect paired with the lighter color MC I plan to use. In this week’s Grocery Girls podcast Jodi mentioned a stitch marker advent calendar, Ocean Loops Studio. I think it would be a good idea for next year. Especially since I already purchased a yarn advent calendar to be opened in Advent ’23. Here’s the minis I’ve opened so far. One more week.

Wishing everyone a wonder filled last week of advent and a very Merry Christmas. You will have to let me know if my blog pictures are better. Hubby couldn’t resist buying us new phones for Christmas.

This is a year of projects (YOP12) update. YOP is a Ravelry Group – make a plan for the year ahead for all your fiber activities, then update your blog each week. Plans can be calendar year (like mine) or mid-year start (like many). Following the plan is optional and creates some of the fun of posts.  YOP started it’s 12th year in July and I’m starting my third year in the group. I’ve been knitting for six years.

15 thoughts on “2022: Wk of 12/11-17; Hubby Sweater Save!! and Cropped Ranunculus FO

  1. Your husband’s sweater looks great! Love the Ranunculous, it is light and airy. You did crop it quite a bit, but it should be very lovely in some spring weather outside or just keeping you warm while sitting in a chair knitting during the winter :).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hubby’s sweater looks nice. You did a great job adjusting it for him. Your Ranunculus looks good too. Making it cropped will give you a chance to wear it in Florida. Your advent minis will be lovely in a sweater.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My sister lives in FL, I always tease her when she tells me it’s cold there :P, I know it is to you all because you are use to warmer weather, but when it’s -30 or below here I dream of 50’s or 60’s weather :). But that cropped sweater should be perfect there, and yes even at church here in the summer the air conditioning runs a little cool and I wear a sweater :). Sweaters are awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay for the jumper rescue. It looks good to me. I am glad it’s on the home stretch now with just one arm left to lengthen. I hope you get on okay with the mohair in your jumper, I think they make better quality mohair these days rather than the terribly scratchy mohair jumper I had as a child.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At least if I don’t like mohair, I didn’t spend a lot of time making the top. I’m going to try wearing it tomorrow to my knitting group as the Panera tends to keep it’s air conditioning chilly.

      Like

Leave a comment