2023: Wk of 4/23-29; Promenade Blouse Almost FO and Other Knitting News

PROMENADE BLOUSE

This sweater puts me in the spirit of the Red Hat Society – “When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple, with a red hat which doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me.” This bright, happy top definitely fits me at this stage of life. Here it is blocked so I could check the fit and see how close it was to be finished. I added 2 more blue stripes to the body and bound off in blue with an i-cord bindoff. The sleeves will get one more stripe of 2 rows of yellow, 2 of orange, and 2 of blue before using the confetti yarn for the i-cord bindoff. Yes, yarn chicken makes you do strange things. I stuck with solid blue as the final stripe on the body as I decided I didn’t want a “bright” stripe as the final stripe across my hips. 😉

I really do love this pattern so I will definitely knit a second one this fall with my autumn themed mini skeins. I will knit that one with more ease to give it an even more different “look” than this one.

STUDENT HAT

I cast on a child’s hat this week to have some “social” knitting in addition to my Sojourn Scarf. My youngest will be teaching 4th grade math in a VERY depressed school district this fall. I plan to knit some hats, cowls, and mitts for him to have available for students. Unfortunately I realized today that it’s going to be WAY too big so I’ll frog and cast-on fewer stitches. Quick knit. 🙂

SOJOURN SCARF

Not a lot done on this scarf since I focused on finishing the Promenade Blouse. The yarn is sooo soft. It does make it a bit hard to knit but it will have wonderful drape and feel great against my neck.

STITCH GOALS

As I predicted, this month saw a drop in the amount of stitches I knit. But I’ll never complain about getting a weekend visit from my daughter followed by a weekend visit from my niece, sister, and brother-in-law plus a family gathering of my husband’s side, some card game nights with my son and his girlfriend, and finally a weekend with my stepdaughter’s family and my only granddaughter. April was definitely Family month. May will certainly have less out of town visitors and visits.

YARN ACQUISITION

This is my story and I’m sticking to it. Not my fault. 😉 Someone, who shall remain nameless, pointed me in the direction of Southern Skeins for a yarn advent calendar. I’ve had the tab open on my computer for weeks as I contemplate ordering the yarn only version. Then this week I get the newsletter that the Mystery Mother’s Day Box is available. A good way to check out the yarn without investing the cost of the whole advent calendar “she thought”. A price point that makes it relatively “cheap” “she thought”. Makes up for not participating in Local Yarn Shop Day “she thought”. (wrong – I’ll still visit my LYS to get purple mohair to make the Abydos!! with purple stash yarn) So I caved. No idea what I’m getting. I’ll share after it arrives and I open on Mother’s Day.

I hope you had a great week of crafting. This has been a Ravelry Year of Projects post. Bloggers are encouraged to share their fiber plans for the year and then post weekly updates. Sticking to the plan is not required.

21 thoughts on “2023: Wk of 4/23-29; Promenade Blouse Almost FO and Other Knitting News

  1. Hooray for another finished top – looks great! Let me know if you would like me to also contribute hats to the good cause for the school kids – I knit a lot and would be glad to send some if you can use them. Enjoy your incoming yarn!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Don’t worry at all about the shipping – I’m happy to cover that. Just tell me when you’d like me to ship the box so it arrives in time. 🙂 Now… true kid sizes? or some small adult things? And is there anything I should avoid in terms of colors or motifs that might be problematic for the population?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think colors are okay. School colors are red and black. I’m not tuned in yet since he doesn’t officially start until Aug. I’m guessing there will be quite the range of sizes (and hairstyles). I’m figuring Nov/Dec is when I’ll need them.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Your reasoning for getting the Mother’s Day box was fabulous. It had me chuckling. Your sweater is so pretty. I like the stripes added to the bottom too. Your family filled April sounds wonderful. A good reason not to get as much knitting done as you expected.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks as I stare at my wall of yarn reminding me I have way too much yarn already. Oh well. I’m looking forward to taking my new bright sweater out for a spin this Friday when I meet some knitting friends for coffee.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Everything looks great! And I “caved” this weekend too, and bought more yarn. *sigh* It’s a curse. I’ve never knit hats or mittens but if I take a sudden interest in doing so, I’ll keep those students in mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, Glad I’m not the only one that can’t resist buying more yarn when I already have plenty. That’s kind of you if you decide to knit a hat. Sometimes it’s nice to knit a quick hat or fingerless mitts as a break between sweaters. For me it’s a way to use up some gifted yarn that I won’t use but perfect for a hat that can be washed easily.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love that confetti yarn looks sooo cool on the top!

    My mom use to knit hats for the elementary school close to her, I know the teachers appreciate it so the children who forgot their hats or don’t have one will be warm at recess. It’s very nice of you to do that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I’m blocking the hem because it curled with just an i-cord after stockinette. Fingerscrossed it will hang flat or I’ll have to rip out the bindoff and part of the stripe to make garter before the bindoff.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What a wonderful family week you had! Your sweater is adorable and is going to look so cute on you. I love all the colors! I us ed to do premie hats for the NICU at the hospital. I need to do some charitable making again. Congrats to your son on his first teaching position….warn him he will get sick a lot the first few years! LOL! Kids are germy….my daughter’s a teacher and it was rough those fir st couple years until she built up her immunity.
    A Mother’s Day box sounds wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. “Fortunately” my son has worked his summers at a day care center running the summer program for elementary school kids so he’s been around germy kids but I’m sure he will still get sick his first few years.

      Like

  6. Your jumper is so cool, I love all the colours. I would say the Mother’s Day box falls under research not stash enhancement, I mean you need to check out that dyers skills right? 😉. I hope is lovely and look forward to seeing it. Trust you’ll share what came when Mother’s Day happens (it’s in March here)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment