2022: Wk of Aug 14-20; Sock and Baby Blanket WIPs

DRAGONFLY SOCKS

Wow, was I lucky!!! Seems I left my sock project bag at the Panera where my new knitting group met last week. It wasn’t until Monday when I went to work on them that I realized I’d left them. Fortunately a worker found the bag and stowed it under the cash register. Only knitters know that was about $50+ in yarn, needles, and bag. Didn’t get as far on them as I had hoped. Fingers crossed I’ll get them finished this week.

OOPS I DID IT AGAIN

You would think I would know by now it rip back if something isn’t quite right. I tried to cheat on my baby blanket when I ran out of yarn for on a stripe. Thought I could live with it. After 2 failed attempts to “fix it”, I ripped about 12 rows back. Then of course when I knit the second time I must have knit looser as I ran out of a different color’s yarn. Now each wider stripe gets one row of white before the fuzzy white stripe. It’s a “design element”. I’ve realized that I cast-on more stitches than I desired but it’s okay. The stripes will be vertical instead of the more typical horizontal. 37″ seems a bit wide but is perfect for the length I wanted.

HALLOWEEN KNIT

My next project will be a Halloween cowl. Hoping it gets cool enough in October to wear it. Too often I don’t even get to wear my Halloween sweater because it’s still too hot. But I wanted a fun colorwork project. I will not be knitting the orange/white/pink stripes. Instead I’m using a sparkle black and orange variegated sock yarn for those sections. I frogged the yarn from a pair of argyle socks I started a couple of years ago hoping to master intarsia in the round. Not. The sock yarn was black, orange, bright blue and yellow. They will be great for the colorwork section. (I do have some white for the ghosts.)

RANUNCULUS

A final photo of my finished Ranunculus. Turns out I don’t have to wear a top underneath. I’m very happy with the neck of this pattern versus the typical “boat neck”. I will be using this neck even on my Anne Hanssen and plan to knit again. I will also do some sleeve decreases to make a more fitted cap sleeve.

HUBBY’S SWEATER

The only acquisition this week was a V Neck Pattern, Broadview Pullover by KnitPicks, for my husband’s sweater. I had purchased a crew neck pattern but he said he’d prefer V Neck. I didn’t find many V Neck patterns on Ravelry so this is the one I ended up with.

Hope you have a wonderful week of crafting.Ā This is a year of projects (YOP12) update. YOP is aĀ Ravelry GroupĀ ā€“ make a plan for the year ahead for all your fiber activities, then update your blog each week. Plans can be calendar year (like mine) or mid-year start (like many). Following the plan is optional and creates some of the fun of posts.Ā Ā YOP started itā€™s 12th year in July and Iā€™m starting my third year in the group. Iā€™ve been knitting for five years.

12 thoughts on “2022: Wk of Aug 14-20; Sock and Baby Blanket WIPs

  1. How luck you were to find your socks at Panera. How nice of them to save them for you. I like the halloween pattern you are going to do. Your sweater turned out great. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your sweater looks great on you! I’m so glad you found your bag of goodies. The socks are so pretty in that green colorway. The Halloween cowl is so cute. I’ve got a pattern for one I want to try. The sweater for your husband looks like nice pattern and just what he’s looking for. Have a great and creative week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whew! That was a great save – glad you were able to reclaim your socks! Your Ranunculus looks beautiful. The colors are outstanding and I’m pretty sure pushed me over the top to add it to my queue. Hope you have a wonderful week of knitting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you will like the Ranunculus. I decided to do a really long section of ribbing at the bottom which you would not have to do. Just do more stockinette and make whatever length of ribbing you prefer. I wanted to do a more “fitted” waist area by doing lots of ribbing. Just watched a podcast today of someone that just knit 2 after resisting all this time. She typically avoids “hot” patterns but had to admit she really liked the pattern.

      Like

  4. I’m glad you managed to get your sock project bag back. That would have been disappointing if someone had stolen or thrown it away. The top looks great, was that neckline written in the pattern. I keep seeing ones with enormous necks and that’s not my thing so it hasn’t really got on my list of things to knit. It looks great on you. Your Halloween project sounds fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the current pattern includes directions for making the smaller neck. I’m really liking the neck directions and plan to use them again, even on other patterns. I’m very unhappy with the neck on my Anne Hanssen tee even though I love the rest of Anne’s pattern.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment