2023:Wk of 8/27-9/2; More Promenade Blouse Progress and Fall Frolic Sock Set

I’ve separated for the sleeves and I’m working down the body. I did order another autumn mini skein set as I’m pretty sure what I have won’t be enough. I want the sweater to be a “flowy” tunic length with long sleeves. I still think I have enough mohair but I have checked again that Miss Babs has more if I need to order a skein. So I’ll wait a little longer before ordering more mohair.

I’m much happier using my cashmere yarn with this cowl pattern, Copilot. I’ll be sad when I run out of yarn. I may just have to order another skein of cashmere from Miss Babs if I end up ordering more mohair. The cowl is not getting a lot of attention since I prefer to finish my Promenade.

A while back I ordered the Fall Frolics Sock Set from AlwaysBeKind yarn dyer. It was a treat since I love fall colors and I really like to support this dyer. I simply cannot imagine surviving the death of a child so I appreciate her advocacy to prevent suicide. I am usually afraid to buy kits because folks like to include “goodies” that I don’t want and thus the kit isn’t worth the cost to me. AlwaysBeKind really did an amazing job!!! In addition to the skein of 85% merino wool self striping yarn with colors I love ($32) plus 2 contrast mini skeins I also love ($10), the kit included cute fall themed needle protectors ($3), and 5 leaf/acorn progress keepers/stitch markers. So at this point it has been well worth the cost of the box. The extras of her Diamond Heel sock pattern for self striping socks ($3), the 3 herbal tea packets (which I will enjoy), the fall critters slap bracelet that I can use as a ball band, the fall stickers (I decorate each month of my big paper calendar that hangs on the side of the refrigerator with seasonal stickers), and the Hershey kisses may be things that I could have lived without, but they are fun little extras that I will indeed use/eat. So the kit was well worth to me.

I already have a pair of socks on my needles so I’m planning to delay knitting up this sock yarn. The pattern I’d really like to use is Bakery Bears Fairground Sock. I’ll take the yarn with me to Florida as a project to knit for my weekly knitting sessions at Panera. It wasn’t too risky that I’d like the yarn from a fall themed sock set. Truthfully other seasons would be much riskier.

Not too surprising. I didn’t get a lot of knitting done this week. Somehow the time at the hospital got filled with talking to my siblings, nieces, and medical staff. My sister and her daughter are back in Texas and my other niece is back in Austria. My poor brother really did the lion’s share as he was usually the one there early in the morning when the doctor would make his/her rounds. As you know, I’m a planner. Thus I would try to anticipate what we should do to be prepared for future steps. We ended up wasting time researching best skilled nursing care centers only to find that his insurance wouldn’t cover those centers. In the end he got transferred to a well rated center near his home, and my brother’s, where he is now building back his capabilities to once again live alone in his house. He is doing terrific! I think Dad’s going for the record on living the longest! No one could believe someone as alert as he is could be 94.

Happy to report that hubby seems to finally be on the mend after 4 weeks of battling a cough and cold. Maybe now we can try to reschedule our visit with my stepdaughter and granddaughter. Also happy to report my son is loving his teaching job and enjoying his students.

I hope you have a great week of crafting. This has been a Year Of Projects post. A Ravelry group where we each create an annual fiber project plan and then post weekly on how it’s going.

18 thoughts on “2023:Wk of 8/27-9/2; More Promenade Blouse Progress and Fall Frolic Sock Set

  1. The blouse is really moving along nicely. I absolutely love the cowl. I normally am not much of an earth tone lover but the color of the cowl really speaks to me. Your new sock yarn is pretty and all the extras are very special. Glad to hear your dad and your hubby are on the road to health.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That Promenade takes the cake…it is gorgeous…the prettiest piece of knitting I’ve ever seen! Of course, I am partial to Fall colors too and I agree with you…Fall has started regardless! The cowl is beautiful too. I love your Fall yarn box….what cute items and the yarn is going to make a great pair of Fairground socks…..that is a cute pattern.
    So glad to hear your Dad is doing so well and that your husband is on the mend too. Glad to hear your son is enjoying teaching! We can never have enough good teachers! I wish him a great year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So happy to hear that all is well with your family and that both your husband and brother are doing better. Love your Promenade sweater and the perfect mix of fall colors. What a fun yarn box, I have been thinking about looking for a subscription box or some type of themed box. I can’t wait to see the Fairground socks knitted, fun pattern.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. The box was nice because of the full skein versus minis, especially since I have a mini advent calendar coming for December. (And that doesn’t count the one I bought last year that was supposed to be for this year. Now it’s on hold till next year.)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad to hear your dad is doing well and settling in. I’m also relieved to hear your son is enjoying the school, I’m sure at such a school there are some great opportunities for him to have a real impact on the students lives. Looks like the autumn kit was a good buy and your jumper is full of autumn vibes. Just as I thought it had arrived we have a few hot sunny days ahead 🥵 well 22°C 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’ve had a busy week, it sounds like – but glad you got at least some knitting in. I hope you decide to make those socks because I love them. Glad your dad is doing better, as is your husband, and great to hear your son is getting settled in at his job too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment