2023:Wk of 8/20-26; Autumn Promenade Update and “You’ve Got Mail”

The love continues with my autumn themed Promenade Blouse. It’s taking a little math this time since I’m using my gauge to calculate how many stitches I need before splitting for the body/sleeves and then figuring out how many increase stitches I need. My first Rainbow/Confetti Promenade Blouse was pretty fitted. I want this one very oversized. I’m not worried about yarn chicken as I’ve confirmed both dyers have more yarn if I need to order more. I didn’t get much done as I planned. (See Personal Front below.) I need to finish the current stripe and then I’ll be splitting for the sleeves.

Good thing my ’23 goal only covered yarn purchases. So what couldn’t I resist this week? Bought some more circular row counters from Twice Sheared Sheep. They were 50% off!!!! I have found I really prefer the round to the straight row counters. Now I have some in all 3 sizes. I’ve been cobbling some of my straight row counters into circular with limited success hence the splurge to buy ones actually made that way.

Then Grocery Girls highlighted a quilted project bag maker this week. The littlest one looked like the perfect “knit while walking” bag. Hopefully I will like the open style basket/bag that I’ll wear on my wrist as I knit versus the crossbody bag I currently use. It truly only fits a 50g ball. I can always gift it to someone as a cute bathroom/guest bedroom basket.

After a wonderful visit with my daughter and son-in-law I came back to the sad news that our outdoor cat was missing. He has not returned all week. We live in the woods so many things could have happened to him. He was such a friendly cat. I warned my son that it was too dangerous to have an outdoor cat here. I apparently knew what I was talking about.

Next, my 94 year old father had to go to the hospital via EMT. It has been a rollercoaster week starting Monday when he picked up the phone but never responded. A police well check found him confused but okay. Wednesday again found him nonresponsive and his vitals concerning so off to the hospital he went. He had an infection and heart issues. Friday was an extremely bad day and to be honest, I didn’t think he was long for this world. Saturday though was a complete turnaround! Today my siblings and I are trying to find a temporary rehab nursing center so that he can build back his strength and be stable enough to return to his home. We are optimistic that he will be able to do so within a week or two.

Hopefully this week I’ll be able to get more knitting in. I hope you have a great week of crafting. This has been a Year Of Projects post. A Ravelry group where we each create an annual fiber project plan and then post weekly on how it’s going.

17 thoughts on “2023:Wk of 8/20-26; Autumn Promenade Update and “You’ve Got Mail”

  1. Your promenade blouse is just gorgeous. The colors are working so well as is the mohair. I am sorry your dad is ill. Sounds like he is on the mend though. Hopefully you find an excellent rehab facility. It is so hard. I know as I had to do this several years ago with my mom. I am glad I visited her daily in rehab. I was able to see some things were not being taken care of the way they should have and I called them on it several times. I feel like sometimes they look at someone of extreme elderly age and figure ‘why try, they’re old’. Kind of scary.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The knitting looks lovely. It is so hard when a family member is ill and in hospital. A rehab center will do wonders for him. If possible take your knitting since there will be a lot of sitting around waiting at the hospital and rehab center. I was also eyeing the counters from Twice Sheared Sheep and the knitting bag looks perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I have been bringing my knitting but seems my sibs and I have been doing a lot of catching up. That’s okay. Today we are doing more independent shifts since we know he’s getting better. I’m getting some knitting time.

      Like

  3. That basket is adorable. I hope it works well for what you envision – but if it doesn’t, it’s terminally cute and will find an appreciated use.

    I’m glad you and your sibs are able to spend a lot of time with your dad; it will keep up his spirits and carers notice if someone is paying attention/being attentive to the needs of an elder. And he certainly is that! 94 is a good long run; he clearly was a good parent if your generation comes together to support him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very true. I think I will be happy with the basket no matter how it ends up getting used. My dad was definitely a great dad and I have a wonderful brother and sister. But sadly this is showing the downside of a long life. It’s shining a light on if he actually can live alone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe he cannot “safely” live alone. But if he is adamant that that’s what he wants and needs, I hope those who love him can recognize that if he dies a few months earlier because he’s living the way he wishes to live, it’s a natural part of life. I’m sure you can get people to check in on him a couple of times a day, make sure he’s got food, lights, heat, etc. and is not completely isolated. I regret that my mother was forced into assisted living a few years before she was really mentally ready for it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry you have had such a hectic week but that things are going better. I hope your father heals quickly!

    I will be watching the growth of your blouse to see what those beautiful colors turn into ;).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Whew! You’ve had a rough week. I’m glad things have turned around with your dad, but that’s always scary! Your top is coming along beautifully – hope you have a bit more knitting time this week with less stress!

    Like

  6. So sorry to hear ab out your Dad and the cat. Most people here have indoor cats for the same reason…too many critters around here. I hope your Dad recovers and is able to return home.
    Your Promenade is beautiful. I always love your yarns and color choices.
    I love the wool bag!
    I hope this coming week is kinder to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m sorry to hear your dad has been unwell and hope he’s continuing to recover. The autumn colours look great. I’m sad about your cat, you never know he may just be visiting a neighbour for a few days. We have lots of trouble here with people feeding others cats and the cats deciding they want to move to that house for a bit. I hold hope he’s having a good time somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment