2024: Wk of 4/14-20; Rainbow Blanket and Abydos Tee

Hope you are having a wonderful spring. After temps in the 80s last week making it feel like June we are having temps in the 50s this week making it feel like March. This is why we can’t garden until mid-May. But my azaleas are blooming so all is good here in Ohio. (Yes, those are cistern lids in the background. We live on rainwater out here in the woods. I also get to laugh when the news this week was about microplastics in the city water.)

I did not think wet blocking would have much of an impact on my linen/hemp/silk yarn but I could not have been more wrong. It’s easily a good 4+” longer. Also it’s clear that the issue with the “bags” under the underarms is due to the dropped shoulder being “too dropped”. Guess I should have knit a smaller size. I think I’ll try to stick to raglan or round yoke designs. The sleeves still need to be reknit “someday” to smooth that transition.

What a joy it is to knit on this. I love bright rainbow yarns. I decided to try to carry the black yarn up the sides to create side borders. I’m using the 2017 Mystery KAL Baby Blanket pattern as I wanted stripes of texture versus different color stripes. Not surprisingly, the stripe with purl bumps to create a heart doesn’t show up on this highly variegated yarn (the pattern is designed for a solid color). I’ll keep it but future stripes will stick to a texture versus purl bump designs. I have a stitch dictionary so that I can create stripe textures. It was free from that online knitting summit a few months ago. Even though the yarn is acrylic, it’s softer than acrylic yarn I’ve used in the past so it’s enjoyable to knit the yarn. Target is to have it done by June as I’ll be heading to South Carolina to help my daughter move into her new home.

Another absolute joy to knit. The yarn is 100% bombyx silk. It’s sooo soft. Plus I love the shine of silk yarn. Sadly the yarn has been discontinued. I’d love to get more of it!! I did the tubular cast-on for the first time. (Followed the pattern!) I’m not a fan of cast-ons that make me guess how much yarn I need for the cast-on. I ripped it out once because I allowed WAY too much yarn. Better the second time but still way too much excess yarn. Decided to go ahead and waste the excess yarn versus trying a third time.

I was nervous about knitting the “tuck row” that creates the “tube” between the mohair stripes as there was no video. You knit 5 rows of MC and then knit together the first row’s WS purl bump to the first row of the mohair creating the tube. Fortunately, it’s easier than I feared.

We move Dad to assisted living this week. It will be nice knowing someone is checking on him at each meal trying to encourage him to eat. We will see where we are at in a month to better plan for the future. Thankful my brother and sister-in-law can enjoy their trip to Austria to see their daughter without worrying about Dad.

That’s if for the week. I’m keeping my WIPS to a minimum since I want to focus on getting the baby blanket and tee done. My posts may be boring for the next few weeks as I only work on two projects.

This has been a Year Of Projects post for the YOP Ravelry group. We share our annual knitting plan and weekly “progress” reports.

12 thoughts on “2024: Wk of 4/14-20; Rainbow Blanket and Abydos Tee

  1. Wow! What a difference the blocking made for your tunic! It also took a lot of the under arm bag out. The baby blanket is pretty. I like the black as the accent on it. The new sweater is going to be gorgeous. That new skill you learned sounds interesting. I do like the effect it created too.

    Like

    1. Thanks. I do like the black as the contrast to the bright rainbow colors. I didn’t realize when I selected the pattern there would be so many “new to me” techniques. Fortunately seems to be working out.

      Like

  2. The flowers are just stunning as is all the knit work. Love the baby blanket colors. What a deep rich purple color for your new sweater.

    Like

  3. Never boring – it’s always nice to see what you’re working on. I do think Deschain improved with blocking. It looks nice on you! Cheering you on for the baby blanket – I tend to get bogged down with projects like this but a deadline always helps đŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I like the way the Deschain turned out, a nice long tunic (or short dress) with lightweight leggings will be so pretty.

    The rainbow blanket is pretty the black is a good contrast to the bright colors. Look forward to the way it progresses.

    Love the purple yarn for your Abydos Tee, looking forward to it’s progress.

    I hope your dad enjoys the assisted living facility, it can make things easier for him and you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah my desire to use up the yarn resulted in a very long tunic! I do love the Abydos yarns. I think I’m going to knit one for me. Gotta see how much yarn I have left. It only used 10 grs of the mohair so I have 65 grs left!! Gotta figure out something for that.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I was sure I’d commented on this post but it’s not there, did it go in your spam I wonder or am I losing my marbles? I like the Deschain as it is after blocking and the purple silk looks gorgeous.

    Like

    1. You commented. I’m embarrassed to admit that somehow I deleted it and wasn’t able to recover it in time. WordPress gives you so little time after they let you know that you have deleted a message. I don’t think I’ve ever been able to “undo” in time. I still have no idea what I’m doing to cause a message to get deleted!!! I’m so sorry!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment