2024: Wk of 4/21-27; Rainbow Baby Blanket and Raining Babies

It’s a girl!!! My daughter called to say she is having a girl. I’m so excited. My rainbow blanket goes with any baby. This has been a pretty fun knit except for having to make sure to cross over the border yarn with the central rainbow line so that there aren’t gaps as I switch between black edging and rainbow yarn. It means I’m juggling three balls of yarn. Not always smooth. I stopped by JoAnn’s to get another ball of black as I realized there was no way one ball was going to make it. I think this is going to be a big blanket compared to my usual baby blankets.

What’s in the water!!?? Our friends that always invite us to join them at their beach house in the Outer Banks just informed us that their daughter is pregnant and due one week after our daughter! It will be their first grandchild. Guess I’ll have to knit a sweater for the baby. My friend and her other daughter both crochet so they already plan to make blankets. One of my Cincinnati knitting friends is also having her first grandchild this summer!! Goodness gracious.

Gosh I love this top. I’m also fortunate that the designer has been patient with my “dumb” questions. Last week I asked about how to do the tuck row. This week I was confused by the German Short Row instructions. I just couldn’t visualize it. Also, this is my first time to do short rows on “flat” knitting. The pattern assumes you know to “turn the work” when you reach the end of the row so it didn’t tell me. I was confused on the first row as I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to “turn” or start knitting the front and back together. Duh. The fact that you purled the stitches was kind of a big hint that you needed to turn. I can be a bit dense! This indeed is an easy knit while being unique (to me) with the rounded stripes on the yoke and the shaping around the armholes. Now it’s just straight stockinette in the round until I get to the ribbed hem. I’m definitely going to knit one for me.

My poor Fixation sock hasn’t gotten a lot of “love” over the past month. I take it on visits to Dad but seems I never get a chance to knit. I took it to the soccer match last night and actually did some knitting during the game. Working on my knitting while not looking. This is a low priority knit so it will be on the needles for a long time. Too many sweaters and tees I want to knit this year.

Got Dad moved into the assisted living facility Thursday. He slept through the whole thing. Sounds like he was more wake Friday and actually ate 3 meals!!! He got to eat dinner with 2 other men which was also our hope that he’d get to socialize. Dad has lost another 4 pounds over the past week so he really needs to eat!

Aldi’s had a great deal on a backyard firepit. It’s only 24″ wide but just the right size for me. Looks like it’s finally going to stop raining here for a few days so I’m looking forward to using it tonight. After a year, we finally got our propane supplier to hook up our new gas grill. My stepson bought us this nice cover for grilling in the rain or just to have some shade while grilling

Hubby and I took a gardening class on how to grow mushrooms. It was fun but I didn’t realize it’s such a long process!! I don’t know if we will ever actually start some mushrooms but it’s fun to think that we could. I can see getting him an indoor kit just as a fun Christmas present.

Well, that’s it for this week. I hope you had a fun week of crafting and you are enjoying Spring. This has been a Year Of Projects Ravelry post. A group of fiber crafting bloggers that create an annual crafting plan and then share weekly updates.

17 thoughts on “2024: Wk of 4/21-27; Rainbow Baby Blanket and Raining Babies

  1. All the knitting looks lovely. The blanket will be so loved and appreciated. I keep hearing rumors they are finally going to build an Aldi in our city and I cannot wait. Hope you get some grilling and fire pit action soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A baby girl. How exciting for you. That blanket will be well loved. Learning new knitting techniques is tough at times. Sometimes it may not be a new technique but the way instructions are written. Glad the designer if your pattern is so understanding.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Little girls are so fun to dress up! However I don’t miss the teenager stage, so don’t remind your daughter so she can enjoy your granddaughter as a little one and child and won’t be worried about what I call the teen midlife crisis (you know everything is a crisis when you are a teen :P.)

    The Abydos is soooo pretty!! I can hardly wait to see what it looks like on!

    I love the yarn for your sock. They will be pretty.

    I can bake, fry and air fry, but I don’t have the knack for grilling :P.

    Like

    1. While I definitely had the teen drama with my stepdaughter, my daughter was an “old soul” and was easy to raise. I’m blocking the Abydos right now so my son’s girlfriend can try it on and confirm the fit before going further on the body.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Whew! You’ve had a busy week, with lots of exciting news, haven’t you?!?

    Your blanket is coming along great and I LOVE the detail on the yoke of that sweater. It’s going to be beautiful.

    Really great news about your dad – I hope he continues to thrive there.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I do love those projects. Hmm, I think that maybe having a year knitting plan and my extended queue actually gives me joy as pretty much I’m looking forward to all the projects I have planned for the foreseeable future.

      Like

  5. Personally I think a pattern should explain if one needs to turn at the end of a row, especially if the way something is worked differs from the usual/traditional method. Same with stitches, eg if a stitch is slipped purple or plain – I only learned that was a thing halfway through one pattern ! It’s that kind of note in projects on Ravelry that I find so useful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve certainly heard some complaints from designers about having to do too much hand holding with patterns. But this designer has been great about responding to my questions. I did check Ravelry project notes before emailing her.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Well that’s very exciting news, I’m sure you will be knitting lots of cute things. Seems to be a right little baby boom going on. Enjoy your fire pit evenings, sounds very relaxing as I love watching flames flickering.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One advantage to living in the woods. We have LOTS of tinder and branches to burn. I don’t care if my knitting smells like campfire. Very true that I find flames flickering relaxing just like ocean waves. Not going to get ocean waves in Ohio!! đŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. I’ve had these for years. They are great for center pulling. The only way to manage this 3 balls at a time knitting. I tend to use a yarn butler for outside pulling.

      Like

Leave a comment