2024:Wk of 4/28-5/4; Abydos Tee and Daisy Stitch

A lot of knitting; not much progress.

This has been the week of ripping! 😝 Based on some of the project comments I added 4 rows before to be sure the armhole wasn’t too tight. After blocking and trying on the yoke it’s clear that the hole is plenty big so I went ahead and ripped back to remove the added 4 rows. No biggie. I reconnected the front to the back and knit a few rows before double checking the stitch count.

Ok, this next part is super embarrassing as someone who’s supposed to be pretty good at math. I counted 97 stitches for the back and 95 stitches for the front. That adds to 202 right? (Keep reading). 10 extra stitches!! How in the world did I add 10 extra stitches?? I double checked the pattern, yes casting on 17 stitches at each arm with the 80 and 78 back and front stitches should add to 192. So after a day of stewing, I again ripped back. Since this is for someone else, I am more prone to make sure “it’s right”. How ironic that on Thursday the podcast Wool, Needles, Hands (one of my favorites) posted a video on being a “perfectionist”. I reattached the front and back only to find myself with 97 and 95 stitches again. Then the math brain FINALLY kicked in. I actually wrote down the carryover number. 97 plus 95 is 192, the correct number of stitches!!!! Lesson learned – use a calculator since apparently I can no longer add!! At least I can be glad I didn’t blindly reduce the 10 stitches only to eventually find out I had 10 too few stitches. It was only 2 days of lost knitting, not counting the ripping back to remove the added 4 rows, but still frustrating. Glad to be back on track knitting down the body.

Have you seen Stephen West’s new sock pattern that uses the Daisy Stitch?? So I was intrigued. YouTube to the rescue. It’s now the stitch I’m using for the next stripe on my daughter’s baby blanket.

I mentioned in last week’s post that our good friend’s daughter is also expecting her first child. They misremembered the expected due date. It is literally the same day as our daughter!! They got a good laugh out of my happy dance after watching their video of the gender reveal. She is having a boy!! I have some baby blue yarn that has been begging to be knit into a baby sweater and now I finally can.

I do enjoy everyone’s gardening updates. I’m just not good at maintaining anything beyond pots of plants on my deck. We are having a VERY warm spring and it’s expected to continue so I went ahead and put some flowers out “early” for our area of the country. Normally I put 3 varieties of flowers in each of my hanging baskets that hang in my outdoor “knitting nook” pergola. It rarely works out well. This year I decided to try something different. I bought 6 different colors of one plant, Calibrachoa because I really like the blossoms, and put only one plant in each of the 6 hanging baskets. The colors are more consistent with my love of all things rainbow. I’m hoping less plants competing for the limited soil will have better results.

I hope you had a wonderful week of crafting and are looking forward to the coming week. This has been a Ravelry Year Of Project post. A group of crafting bloggers that create an annual crafting plan and then share weekly updates.

14 thoughts on “2024:Wk of 4/28-5/4; Abydos Tee and Daisy Stitch

  1. Oh goodness, we do seem to have had similarly frustrating weeks. At least we are hopefully both back on track now. Hopefully your hanging baskets will work well this year, daily watering and deadheading is the trick with ours here. If I forget for a day or two they get leggy and more prone to dying. I’ve not planted ours up yet but bought some Petunia Surfinia for them and will plant those up this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry you had a visit to Frog Pond. Your math mistake totally sounds like something I would do! There is a reason I am only allowed to teach kindergarten math LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. What an embarrassing mistake for someone who used to be able to solve calculus problems. Sadly my brain function is much more limited now. No more “in my head” calculations.

      Like

  3. When I have several problems on a pattern I’m knitting, I put the project in a time out until I have time to try to figure out what I did or didn’t do. That way I make it the projects fault and not mine :P. It looks pretty!

    My “gardening” consists of some indoor plants and that new Hibiscus tree that I put out on my balcony on nice days. I wish I had a yard to putter around in, miss gardening.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As someone who struggles consistently with math, I completely understand this sort of thing because it happens to me ALL.THE.TIME. Glad you’re back on track with it tho!

    How fun to have two new little ones to knit for!

    And I am extremely jealous of your pergola and the view into the woods. We don’t really have that kind of dense green foliage here so I will enjoy yours long distance!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Seems like this past week was made for ripping back. That makes 3 of us YOPers that had to do that.  Oh well, it all works out in the end, right? That is a very pretty stitch for the baby blanket. Your hanging baskets are so pretty. How nice to sit out there and enjoy that gorgeous view.

    Like

Leave a comment