#86. KaBoom!!

I was soooo close to having my first FO of 2021. Ten rows!! So I tried on my non-shellseeker sweater to confirm that I liked the sleeve length before binding off. What?? I hated the way the stripes looked. While it looked great on my excel sheet, the huge stripes didn’t look so good on me. I went too fast increasing the stripe widths and too large an increase. I hadn’t tried on the sweater since just after I separated for sleeves. LESSON LEARNED – try on the sweater more frequently to confirm you like the way it looks, especially with a striped pattern!!!!

There went 6 weeks of knitting. To say the least I am now way behind on my sweater knitting goal for 2021. Oh well. The only saving grace is that at least now I’ve already started the sleeves, which I hate doing. So now it’s very simple stockinette so this is a pretty “brain dead” knit. And I do love the yarn so getting to knit with it longer isn’t so bad. Even though I like tunics, it was longer than I wanted so this is a chance to correct the length. Plus I had forgotten the pattern calls for splits between the front and back and I did want those so that will get fixed too. And yes, I’m standing on the bed. Our Florida rental doesn’t have a full length mirror.

Well this called for some therapy …. as in retail therapy. The only way I wasn’t going to hate knitting this sweater was to put it in a new pretty project bag with a matching needle case from Twisted Yarn and Fiber.

Until the project bag arrives, I also decided I need to cast-on a new project despite not having finished the sweater. So I cast on my Advent 2019 socks. These are a sock project that will be worked on sporadically over the year finishing before Advent 2021. It has 12 stripes of colorwork plus the toe/heel/cuff. I little more than a stripe a month. I’m looking forward to my first try at colorwork.

2021 is off to a rough start knittingwise but I’m trying to make the best of it. I just didn’t expect my plan to blow up so soon. The temperature sweater is probably the sweater that will fall off the plate but we will see. Hope your knitting year is going better than mine if you are a calendar year planner.

20 thoughts on “#86. KaBoom!!

  1. Oh dear. How much did you frog on your sweater? I am so sorry it was not to your liking. Hopefully, attempt #2 will be perfect for you. Good idea to start some socks to help “cleanse” the pallette.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no, I really like the look of the jumper on you, it reminds me of a 60s mini skirt dress but If you didn’t feel right in it then you’d not wear it so I can understand why you’ve frogged so much. I’m sure you’ll catch up with your plan for 2021 but no one is judging you on whether you make it or not, we all add and remove projects during our year. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry you had to go through that….so disappointing! I think this was the week of disappointment. I love your knit markers and your socks should turn out nice! I hope you have a better week!

    Like

  4. Oh no! I can feel your disappointment, but I have to say it looks cute on you! With all the mods you really want, though, you’ll be happier, I know, frogging and re-knitting the bottom portion. It’s good you like working with the yarn. Double the fun. ;^) And you got a new bag in the deal. I’m still totally inspired by the knitting of clothing. It’s going to be a great piece when you get it the way you like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fortunately I’m not nearly as depressed as I thought I would be. Maybe because I plan to forge ahead with planned January projects and then work on this sweater as I can. Since it’s a simple knit, I’m more able to put it aside and pick it back up. I am leaving myself notes though. 🙂

      Like

  5. These things happen. As you said, you’re getting a chance to not just fix the mistakes, but make the sweater even better than the first version. Looking forward to seeing your socks grow.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful project bag!. sorry about the sweater – but you will be happier to re-knit it to your liking. I chuckled at you having to stand on your bed. I often have to do that to be able to take a bird’s eye picture of blankets I have completed. Not the most stable platform,eh?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That is disappointing about the sweater- but it’s way better to re-knit it into something you love than be annoyed every time you look at it! I’m sure it will look great when you’re done (the 2nd time) 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment