2023:Wk of 8/13-19; Autumn Promenade and Cowl

This week I worked on my second Promenade Blouse using the autumn mini set from Coates & Co yarns and the Moonglow mohair from Miss Babs. I am super tickled with how it looks. I couldn’t be happier with how the mohair colors go with the solid stripe colors. I am really looking forward to being able to wear it this fall. I made the neck much more like a crew neck and have confirmed it will stretch enough to get over my head. This is an easy knit since it’s all stockinette. I just have to remember to switch to a larger needle for the mohair stripes and then back to a smaller needle for the solid stripes. I also do the increases in the mohair stripes.

Speaking of Miss Babs yarn, I frogged the original project that I was knitting using the Sojourn cashmere yarn from Miss Babs. The colorway is called Fired Up and is very autumnish with reds, browns, black, and orange. The cashmere yarn is such a joy to knit with. I’m using the same lace pattern that I used for the FCC cowl that I finished last week. I’m using my US 6 Pyrm circular needle this time. I bought one 4-5 years ago at a Vogue Live Event as it was supposed to be better ergonomically. I do like the blunt tip for working with this cashmere yarn. My usual pointy needle tips split the yarn a lot. I don’t feel I’m fighting the yarn as much this time around.

I did cast-on a pair of socks just to have an alternate project to work on while visiting my daughter. This is probably going to go on hold until I finish the autumn cowl. It’s just some West Yorkshire sock yarn I had in my stash. I do like the fun colors of the yarn but the colors are very short “splotches”, not a full stripe. I’m going to try the Yamadori pattern.

I had a very nice visit with my daughter and son-in-law in Charleston, SC. Hubby is still sick so he stayed in Cincinnati. He is on his second course of medication trying to clear his lungs. He thinks it’s starting to clear so fingers crossed. It was very weird to visit our daughter without him. It looked like I couldn’t cancel our flights so I came by myself. We eventually figured out I could have cancelled them although I don’t know how much of a refund we would have gotten. The airline definitely made it hard to reach customer service and get information.

I hope you had a fun week of crafting. We are certainly still experiencing summer heat and humidity. Looks like I will get to see Lionel Messi in person this week as Cincinnati plays Inter Miami.

This has been a YOP post. A Ravelry group of crafting bloggers. We share our annual crafting plans and then provide weekly updates on our progress.

21 thoughts on “2023:Wk of 8/13-19; Autumn Promenade and Cowl

  1. Love the colors in the sock yarn. I think they’ll be fun looking sock once finished. It’s been muggy where I am too. It’s been an odd summer. Glad you got to visit family.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I’m used to striping sock yarn so this is a little different but that’s good. This week is supposed to be brutal but we get a big cool down for the weekend to look forward to.

      Like

  2. Your promenade blouse is gorgeous. I love the way the mohair works so well with it. The cowl is going to be so pretty. A much better choice for that yarn. Socks are such a great traveling project. So glad you got to go visit your daughter. Boo that hubby was still icky. Hopefully he gets over this stuff soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I agree I’m MUCH happier with the cowl for that yarn than the scarf I was trying to make. I am glad I got to visit my daughter and son-in-law and we did have a good time even without my hubby but it was uncomfortable to be without him. Maybe I’ll appreciate him more. 😉

      Like

  3. Loving all the colours going on here, but most of all the Autumn Promenade! It’s beautiful and making me so excited for cooler temperatures, cosy dressing and all the fun of autumn/fall.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I think I just found another of “my people” because what you just described is heaven 😂. I do like pastels and brighter colours but I’ll choose anything fall-related first, always.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment