2023: Wk of 5/14-20; Ranunculus Progress, Colorwork Socks, and Hat Cast-on

RANUNCULUS UPDATE

This is a super easy knit now that it’s just a stockinette in the round for the body. I’m almost out of yarn so I’ll be finishing off the body today. Then I’ll use the collar mini to make a very small ribbed cuff for the sleeves followed by a small garter hem. Probably will have to use a second mini to be able to finish the hem.

“WINTER” COLORWORK SOCKS

Arg. The risk of making this a sometimes project. Could not find the background yarn for the second sock’s purple stripe. So I had to rip it out on the first sock and reknit the sock with a different purple background yarn. Definitely an eclectic pair of socks. I need to knit the final 2 stripes on the second sock and then I’ll knit the foot in some leftover sock yarn. The yarns don’t match in any way but I almost always wear shoes so no one sees the foot of my socks. These are supposed to be “whimsical” and just use up leftover yarn. They aren’t a gift for anyone, just fun ones for me to wear.

NEW HAT and POM POM ACQUISITION

Despite my logic that it would be more fun to cast-on the colorful rainbow yarn for the next hat, I cast on the same tan tweed I used in the first student hat. Decided I was more interested in “finishing off” the yarn. I did order a bunch of faux fur pom poms to hide my less than pretty crown decreasing. At only $0.50 a pom pom, I felt the hats could enjoy the splurge. I’ve also found a use for a crochet bag I bought several years ago. It’s now my “hat yarn” bag.

COVID

It took 3 years but hubby and I finally came down with Covid. My test result went positive so fast I it did a second time because I thought I did something wrong! Doc put us on meds, Paxlovid for me and something for hubby that didn’t interfere with his blood thinner. We are both doing much better although have persistent tiredness. Fortunately for us our insurance still covers Covid testing and treatment until mid-July.

Wishing everyone a wonderful week of crafting. This has been a Ravelry Year of Projects post. Bloggers are encouraged to share their fiber plans for the year and then post weekly updates. Sticking to the plan is not required. 😉

17 thoughts on “2023: Wk of 5/14-20; Ranunculus Progress, Colorwork Socks, and Hat Cast-on

  1. Your sweater is so close to complete. How exciting. I love the whimsical socks. How fun it will be to wear them. Those are some cute pom poms. Unfortunately, I was not able to see the photos on either side of the pom poms. Sorry to hear you caught covid. Glad to hear it isn’t too bad. May you be 100% soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, sadly I’m one of those people that needs things to match. It’s why I knit 2 at a time magic loop if the sock pattern is a lacy or cable pattern. But I’ve come to really like the compactness of a 9″ circular sock so I’m knitting more vanilla socks.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. At least I do like the dark purple background and I was trying to use up yarn. Maybe I used up more than I thought?? But at least a good cautionary lesson. I don’t normally set aside projects.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the colors in your current Ranunculus version – so light and delicate. I’ve got a large bag of various ends of DK-weight yarns so I plan to go through those once and see what will work together for some more hats for the kiddos. Take lots of naps and good care of yourself – get well soon!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. Now I know who made the comment. 🙂 I’m already doing MUCH better. I’m blocking my Ranunculus and should have final pictures for this week’s blog post.

        Like

  3. The Ranunculus is so pretty and looks so soft. Is there a pattern for the Winter color work socks? I just love them!
    Your crochet bag is great for a sock bag.
    So sorry you both got Covid…I hope the tiredness goes away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am using some of the stripe patterns from Advent Sock 2019 by Natalie Sheldon. It’s a free pattern on Ravelry. I don’t do stripes on the foot so there are plenty of stripe patterns to chose from.

      Like

  4. Your Ranunculus is lovely (of course I’m behind so it could be done by now!) I don’t have a problem with non matching socks- as long as there is a theme. Yours are looking brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment